Skip to main content

Up Next: Latin America’s 50 Best Restaurants 2015

Latin America’s 50 Best Restaurants is in Mexico City this week for the first time, following two successful years in Lima, Peru. This prestigious list will be unveiled at an exciting awards ceremony tomorrow tonight. In addition to the list, several awards will be presented to chefs with notable popularity and sustained contributions to the world of Latin American gastronomy.

In 2014, Lima-based Central, helmed by Chef Virgilio Martinez, was crowned the No. 1 restaurant on Latin America’s 50 Best Restaurants. Earlier this month, this year’s Diner’s Club® Lifetime Achievement Award—Latin America 2015 went to Enrique Olvera, a chef and restaurateur based in Mexico City and New York. Diners Club President Eduardo Tobon will be presenting the prestigious award to Olvera at this year’s awards event, hosted at Antiguo Colegio de San Ildefonso, a historical museum and cultural venue located in the city’s center. Known as the birthplace of the Mexican muralism movement, San Ildefonso is a culturally-rich venue that appropriately spotlights the celebratory occasion.

Other awards to be presented during the ceremony include the Veuve Clicquot Latin America’s Best Female Chef Award 2015 and Latin America’s Best Pastry Chef Award 2015, sponsored by Cacao Barry®. Last year’s Lifetime Achievement Award went to Alex Atala for his contribution to Brazilian gastronomy.

Start gearing up for Latin America’s 50 Best Restaurants by watching Chef Enrique Olvera talk about how the origins of his acclaimed Mexican cuisine are rooted in street food.

Which restaurant do you think will top Latin America’s 50 Best Restaurants in 2015? Make your predictions by joining the conversation using the event hashtag #LatAm50best on social media. Diners Club will be at the event, providing live social media coverage on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.  And as you get inspired by all of these culinary achievements, tell us about your best meal ever by using the hashtag #BestMealEver.